Author Spotlight: M.V. Freeman

I’m so excited to have M.V. Freeman return today to discuss her new upcoming release, Illumination. This is the second book in the The Hidden Races Series. Again, I have to say, this is another spectacular cover. Please give us a quick blurb about the book. Illumination_FINAL FRONT

Illumination:

Capricious and free-spirited, Mina Tepes is forever trying to intervene. Some would say she interferes. Her attempt to save a friend worsens a war already waging between her people, the Darks, and their reviled overlords, the Mages. Desperate, she turns to the man who saved her life as child–an enemy Mage named Xander.

As part of the ruling class, Xander Fjordson should never have taken notice of Mina, but even as boy, one look into her large dark eyes and he was lost. As an adult, involvement with her has ripped his world to shreds. Though the war she unintentionally instigated has made them enemies, when she comes to him bleeding and injured, he is unable to say no. He puts at risk what is left of his status and his family as he follows her, knowing in the end he’d have to betray her.

Together Xander and Mina begin to unravel terrible secrets as the war escalates. Soon Xander must choose: save his family or the woman who’s come to mean more to him than his own life.

This sounds darker than your last book. For those readers that have not read the first book, Incandescent, do they need to?

MVF: It is a series—so unfortunately it would be helpful. I also hope that I wrote it in such a way that you can read it without.

Tell us about this fantasy world you’ve created. There are Mages, Humans, Darks and Elementals. What special powers do each of these species (is that the right word?) have? And what are their weaknesses?

MVF: Let me make it short and sweet: 

  • Elementals: Control elements, the weather. Weakness: They need a balance
  • Mages: Their magic is strongest with illusion, transfiguration, telekinesis, teleportation, etc. Weakness: with each successive generation they get weaker.
  • Darks: Can walk in the night; their magic is similar to Mages, but darker and used more to assist them in their hunting. Weakness: Sunlight, and most are monsters.

What draws Xander to Mina and vice versa?

MVF: I love these two; Xander and Mina are drawn to each other—because they see each other as who they truly are. Xander is an artist—which Mina loves and encourages, she believes in him. Xander appreciates Mina’s capricious ways—and admires her free spirit. I love the balance of the two. To me this is Romeo and Juliet meets Underworld.

Who do you imagine playing them in the dream movie (or who was their inspiration?

MVF: This is why I love Pinterest! I have photos! But I see Xander played by Joseph Morgan, and Mina by Ashley Green. You can go here to see some of my inspiration: https://www.pinterest.com/mvfreeman/illumination/

Any particular songs on a playlist for this book?

MVF: The main song for this book is: A Familiar Taste of Poison by Halestorm. Of course, for your listening/watching pleasure I have a link to it.

https://youtu.be/lHZKPYQnsmc

How many books do you anticipate in the series?

MVF: Originally I planned three books—but there will be ultimately be four books in this series. The third one is tentatively named “Blood on Paper” which will continue the story featuring Lev Tepes –Mina’s brother and an Art thief as the hero. Rachel Sullivan is the reluctant witch and heroine. The fourth book will feature Stefan Tepes (Cazacul) and Nicki Monroe, currently I’m calling that book Iridescent; but I believe I am going to re-name it.

I can’t wait to read the entire series and wish you much success. Thank you for stopping by.

Thank you Nancee for having me on your blog! It is always a pleasure.

1364Author Bio: M.V. Freeman lives in North Alabama. A nurse by day, at night she enjoys creating and exploring alternate worlds within our own. She gravitates toward stories of determined heroines and anti-heroes who push the boundaries as they both fight to find their light in the dark.

M.V. is represented by Victoria Lea from The Aponte Literary Agency. Her award-winning and best-selling debut novel INCANDESCENT is the first in the Hidden Races Series. Currently she is working on the third book in the series, while plotting others. When not writing, she can be found reading, cooking, throwing around kettle bells, or making coffee.

You can find her on twitter: @MVFree

And more about her here (as well as links to pre-order)

Website: http://www.mvfreeman.com/

Simon & Schuster (pre-order links) http://bit.ly/1OscWoP

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMVFreeman?ref=hl

Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/mvfreeman

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/mvfreeman/illumination/

Linked in: https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=65233334&trk=nav_responsive_tab_profile

Google +: https://plus.google.com/100536411253117557991/posts

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6431724.M_V_Freeman

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/M.V.-Freeman/e/B008QYIYMS/ref=dp_byline_cont_book_1

About.me: https://about.me/mvfreeman

Tsu: http://www.tsu.co/MVFreeman

15 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: M.V. Freeman

  1. Great interview! I have a few questions for both of you: there are so many urban fantasies and paranormal romances out currently, (1) how do you keep your voice/stories fresh in a crowded market? (2) how do you make your story standout and catch a reader who is almost numbed by so many choices, and (3) what do you do to keep up to date in terms of reading in the genre?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for asking, and the questions really made me think.
      #1. Be true to who you are as an author. Don’t jump on the current bandwagon of what “hit it big.” Don’t try to mimic another author, no matter how much you love their work.
      #2. I can’t really answer, as I’m not published yet. However, in my upcoming paranormal novel, I decided to add an extra layer to the wrong boy for the right girl, trope. Not only is he an angel, she thinks he’s a priest!
      #3. This one makes me very sad. Working full time and writing, I don’t have time to read. I’ve been on the same book (which is in the Contemporary Romance category) for a month and I used to devour 2-3 books weekly.
      –Nancee

      Liked by 1 person

    • A challenge! Love those questions Heather.
      1) To keep it fresh–I write, what I want to read. What would appeal to me. With this crowded market one has their pick of stories-and hopefully someone will like what they see, but I am aware that there are those who won’t–and that’s fine.
      2) How I make it stand out? I think this all depends on a writer’s voice and what appeals to the reader. For me, what I try to do is really look at the characters and plot and how they mesh. It’s a process that is ongoing. I wish I could say with certainty “This” is what makes it stand out– but writing is about growing and I am still growing. So long as I try not to take short cuts or make things boring—I think this is what makes writing/stories stand out. (Again–subjective–because what I think is boring, someone may adore)
      3. How do I keep up? I read from every genre-this I find helps. I don’t stick to mine, but I am always looking for a new author to read, and I watch and see whats out there, see who posts what. Sometimes it’s a random thing that makes me want to read a book. (and since there are so many authors in my genre–I love the choice, it’s like going to a candy store…)

      Like

Leave a Reply

