An unsteady path, but one filled with gratitude.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This Thanksgiving finds me reflecting on the past year and my budding writing career. My writing life has been a lot like this swinging bridge. A little dark on the outside with a shaky path to walk.  With the encouragement of some wonderful writer friends, I took the plunge and submitted two manuscripts to publishers and agents.

The first rejection email hurt. I won’t lie. I cried. How could they not love my “baby” as much I did? My writing friends were there for me.  These wonderful authors have been there, done that and shared my pain of rejection. They were also loving enough to tell me to quit whining, put my big girl panties on, deal with it and move on. So I did what they suggested.

I persevered. I worked hard. I took classes. I entered contests. I pitched. And I wrote. Every. Damn. Day. Even if it was only one sentence that was deleted the next day. I’m still learning my craft. I will never perfect it. Trust me, my first drafts are crap. That’s where my wonderful critique partners step in to help and my agent offers areas to tweak.

On this path to being an author I’ve met strangers whom I now consider to be good friends. Their love and encouragement through the rejections and the long waiting periods have sustained me. My family has been supportive, if a bit surprised, by my choice to pursue writing seriously. My husband has picked up my slack on the home front as I pursue this second career and has become an excellent cook. (win/win for me)

So in summary, I encourage anyone starting out on this journey, believe in your dreams. Without them, why live? The path might rock and roll, making you fear failure, but hang on and reach out to other writers. We’ve been there. Keep your eyes at the end, don’t look down, and only look back to see how far you’ve come.

One thought on “An unsteady path, but one filled with gratitude.

Leave a Reply

